We record the connection data and click path information of your visit, in order to serve your page view requests and to secure and improve our web site. The data we collect this way includes the time, client IP address, referer, user agent, and the accessed page of each request, as well as the search terms and parameters when you use the site search feature. This information doesn't normally reveal the identity of a visitor, but it allows to follow the path of each visitor through the site for an individual session.
The resulting data is of primarily statistical value, and will be kept on file permanently. The raw data will never be given to any third party, but we may share anonymized statistical reports generated from it with partners, or the general public.
We offer a free online data conversion tool for your convenience.
Since the data conversion happens on the server, we must store each of your converted files there temporarily. It will be automatically deleted again after a while, typically between two and three days after you uploaded it. Files that fail to convert are deleted immediately. Nobody else will ever see any of your files.
To keep track of which of the files temporarily stored on the server are yours, the software deposits a cookie in your browser identifying your current session. This cookie will automatically expire 48 hours after your last upload. If your cookie has expired, or if you delete it manually before that, then the next upload will generate a fresh one, initiating a new session.
If you want to communicate with us, then you can either do that by direct e-mail, or you can use the feedback form linked from every page. When doing so, you may provide your name and e-mail address for us to reply to you, but this is not a requirement.
We will treat the information aquired by those methods the same way as if you had sent us a direct e-mail. This means that we will keep your name and address on file, but never give them to anyone else without your permission.
You can send a notification about a page on our site to someone else, through our "Tell a Friend" form. To prevent abuse, in this case it is mandatory to provide the name and e-mail address of both you and the recipient. Any use outside of the stated purpose of this tool may be considered abuse.
Please note that, although you can include some short comments of your own in such a message, this is not a private communication channel, as we will also see everything you write. This is necessary for us to prevent abuse, and it also helps us to learn about what people do or don't like about our site. In contrast to the feedback form however, we will purge the names and e-mail addresses from our systems at most four weeks after the message has been sent, and not use them for any other purpose or give them to anyone else.
The only exception to this rule: Data that we may have collected in the context of any abuse of the notification form is excempt from deletion, may be kept and used as evidence indefinitely, and passed on eg. to relevant authorities.